P.O. Box 668
Saluda, SC 29138
Phone 864 445-2527
Fax 864 445-8679
Email sentinel@saludasc.com



Crowned 2015 Miss 4-H

  The SC Miss 4-H Pageant was held January 10, 2015 at Thornwell Home for Children’s Gilliam Center in Laurens.
    Madison H. Price, a senior at Saluda High School and daughter of Greg and Cynthia Price, was crowned 2015 Miss 4-H out of 43 eligible contestants.
  Judging was based on appearance, modeling, poise, personality and apparel and included business dress, formal dress, interview and 4-H project dress.
  Madison will represent 4-H at various events across the state throughout this next year.
  She also is Vice-President of State 4-H Teen Council and will be attending National 4-H Conference in Washington, DC in April.



WRITING FINALISTS - (from left to right): Charish Cauley, Drayton Rowe, Sara Rodriguez, Alex Lybrand, Kayla Cordero, Lori Able and Breckon Gardner (John Owens not pictured)  Congratulations to Saluda High  students who were chosen from over 200 entries to represent Saluda High School in the USC Honors College Pat Conroy writing contest.


Eight Students Chosen as Finalists in USC
Honors College Pat Conroy Writing Contest

  Only twenty-eight students from across the state are invited to attend. Our finalists are Lori Able, Charish Cauley, Kayla Cordero, Drayton Rowe, Sara Rodriguez, Alex Lybrand, John Owens and Breckon Gardner. These students will attend a second round hosted at the University of South Carolina, where they will be given the opportunity to meet Margory Wentworth, South Carolina  Poet Laureate,  and Maggie Schein, author of Story River Books.
  They will then compete in the second round, where they will be given 40 minutes to complete a well thought essay on an entirely new topic. Both essays will factor into the judgment and decision for the winners. Pat Conroy and Margory Wentworth will be the judges of the essays and poems. The first place winner will receive a $1000 prize.




BOARD OFFICERS TAKE OATH OF OFFICE - Judge Bruce Horne administers the Oath of Office to newly elected officers for 2015. Left to right:  Christy Corley Nichols, Board Chairperson; James Holloway, Vice-Chairperson; Dr. Arlene Puryear, Secretary.